Archives for April, 2017

Don’t let utility scams overpower you

When your electricity goes out, you lose power in more ways than one. Daily necessities are out of reach without lights, warm water, and heat or air conditioning. So if you get a call from someone threating to shut off your utilities because they say you owe money, you’re going pay attention – and you […]

By FTC | Scam Alert
DETAIL

Upcoming Twitter chats

We’ve got some Twitter chats planned for servicemembers, families, and anyone who works with the military community. @MilConsumer and @DeptVetAffairs (Department of Veterans Affairs) will host a chat about avoiding and recovering from tax, child, and medical identity theft. Join in at #VeteranIDTheftChat: Wednesday, April 12, 11am ET (10am CT, 9am MT, 8am PT) @MilConsumer, @CFPBMilitary […]

By FTC | Scam Alert
DETAIL

Debt collector returns $2.7 million to victims

Just last week, the FTC mailed checks returning money to more than 5,200 people, thanks to the FTC’s settlement with Rincon Debt Management. People who lost money are getting back the full amount of the fraudulent fees they were charged – an average of $525 – which adds up to more than $2.7 million. Source: […]

By FTC | Scam Alert
DETAIL

A Western Union update

We told you earlier this year about the $586 million settlement with Western Union – where the company will return money to people who were tricked into wiring money to scammers using Western Union. Those refunds are part of a global settlement with the Federal Trade Commission and the Department of Justice (DOJ), and our […]

By FTC | Scam Alert
DETAIL